Whether you are an advertiser or a publisher, we've got the right mix to help you succeed

Glossary

Terms A-C

Ad impression
an ad which is served to a user’s browser.
Ad network
an aggregator or broker of advertising inventory for many sites. Ad networks are the sales representatives for the Web sites within the network.
Ad request
the request for an advertisement as a direct result of a user's action as recorded by the ad server. Ad requests can come directly from the user’s browser or from an intermediate Internet resource, such as a Web content server.
Ad serving
the delivery of ads by a server to an end user's computer on which the ads are then displayed by a browser and/or cached. Ad serving is normally performed either by a Web publisher, or by a third-party ad server. Ads can be embedded in the page or served separately.
Alternate text
a word or phrase that is displayed when a user has image loading disabled in their browser or when a user abandons a page by hitting "stop" in their browser prior to the transfer of all images. Also appears as “balloon text” when a user lets their mouse rest over an image.
Animated GIF
an animation created by combining multiple GIF images in one file. The result is multiple images, displayed one after another, that give the appearance of movement.
Bandwidth
the amount of information that can be transmitted over communications lines at one time.
Banner
An advertisement on a web page which links to another web site or page. This often refers to a 468x60 format. Big Box – An ad format that is typically sized as 300x250. It is also sometimes called a medium rectangle.
Bounce
what happens when e-mails are returned to the mail server as undeliverable. Broadband an Internet connection that delivers a relatively high bit rate.. Cable modems, DSL and ISDN all offer broadband connections.
Browser
a software program that can request, download, cache and display documents available on the World Wide Web. Browsers can be either text-based or graphical.
Cache
memory used to temporarily store the most frequently requested content/files/pages in order to speed its delivery to the user. Cache can be local (i.e. on a browser) or on a network. In the case of local cache, most computers have both memory (RAM), and disk (hard drive) cache. Today, Web browsers cause virtually all data viewed to be cached on a user's computer.
Cache busting
the process by which sites or servers serve content or HTML in such a manner as to minimize or prevent browsers or proxies from serving content from their cache. This forces the user or proxy to fetch a fresh copy for each request. Among other reasons, cache busting is used to provide a more accurate count of the number of requests from users.
Cached ad impressions
the delivery of an advertisement to a browser from local cache or a proxy server’s cache. When a user requests a page that contains a cached ad, the ad is obtained from the cache and displayed.
Channels
a group of sites containing a similar category of content. Within Olive, inventory can be purchased across a channel to maximize reach
Chat
online interactive communication between two or more people on the Web. One can “talk” in real time with other people in a chat room, but the words are typed instead of spoken.
Clicks
1) metric which measures the reaction of a user to an Internet ad. There are three types of clicks: click-throughs; in-unit clicks; and mouseovers; 2) the opportunity for a user to download another file by clicking on an advertisement, as recorded by the server; 3) the result of a measurable interaction with an advertisement or key word that links to the advertiser’s intended Web site or another page or frame within the Web site; 4) metric which measures the reaction of a user to hot-linked editorial content. See iab.net for ad campaign measurement guidelines. See also ad click, click-through, in-unit clicks and mouseover.
Click-stream
1) the electronic path a user takes while navigating from site to site, and from page to page within a site; 2) a comprehensive body of data describing the sequence of activity between a user’s browser and any other Internet resource, such as a Web site or third party ad server.
Click-through
the action of following a hyperlink within an advertisement or editorial content to another Web site or another page or frame within the Web site. Ad click-throughs should be tracked and reported as a 302 redirect at the ad server and should filter out robotic activity.
Click-through rate
the percentage of clicks per impressions served
Click-within
similar to click down or click. But more commonly, click-withins are ads that allow the user to “drill down” and click, while remaining in the advertisement, not leaving the site on which they are residing.
Cookie
a file on the user’s browser that uniquely identifies the user’s browser. There are two types of cookies: persistent cookies and session cookies. Session cookies are temporary and are erased when the browser exits. Persistent cookies remain on the user’s hard drive until the user erases them or until they expire.
Cookie buster
software that blocks the placement of cookies on a user’s browser.
CPA (Cost-per-Action)
cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. "Actions" include such things as a sales transaction, a customer acquisition, or a click.
CPC (Cost-per-click)
cost of advertising based on the number of clicks received.
CPL (Cost-per-lead)
cost of advertising based on the number of database files (leads) received.
CPM (Cost-per-thousand)
media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions. For example, a Web site that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 visits has a CPM of $15 ($1,500 divided by 100).
CPO (Cost-per-Order)
cost of advertising based on the number of orders received. Also called Cost-per-Transaction.
CPS (Cost-per-Sale)
the advertiser's cost to generate one sales transaction. If this is being used in conjunction with a media buy, a cookie can be offered on the content site and read on the advertiser's site after the successful completion of an online sale.
Crawler
a software program which visits virtually all pages of the Web to create indexes for search engines. They are more interested in text files than graphic files. See also spider, bot, and intelligent agent.
CRM
customer relationship marketing. Marketing specifically targeted to increasing brand loyalty.